Skip To Main Content

IB Classes offered at MWHS

IB Diploma Programme students must choose one subject from groups one to five.  Students may then choose an arts subject from group 6, or a second subject from groups 1 to 5. 

The Groups are as follows:

Group 1- English

Group 2- Foreign Language

Group 3- Social Science

Group 4- Science

Group 5- Math

Group 6- Art 


Most IB courses are taught at two levels, higher level and standard level.  Diploma students must have, at a minimum 3 Higher Level and 3 Standard Level courses. They are allowed to take 4 Higher Level and 2 Standard Level if they choose. All higher level courses are two years in duration (240 hours of instruction). Standard level courses typically are one year in duration but some are two (150 hours of instructions). Though rigorous, standard level class requirements are not as strenuous as the higher level course.



Group 1                                  Group 2                                  Group 3

English HL                              Spanish SL/HL                        History HL

                                               Spanish ab Initio SL                Psychology HL/SL

                                                                                               Economics SL





Group 4                                 Group 5                                 Group 6

Biology SL/HL                        Math AA SL                           Visual Arts SL/HL

Physics SL                           Math AP SL/HL                       Film SL/HL                                        

Computer Science SL/HL